Are you Afraid of Death? Why?

If you aren’t afraid of dying, there is nothing you can’t achieve.

Verse #74 from the Tao Te Ching by Lao Tzu.

I have never been afraid of death. Dying on the other hand… I don’t want to be burned to death, or eaten by a shark, nor tortured to death. I can really do without that kind of death. Not so much on the drowning either. I am completely not worried about what comes after this physical body finally bites the big one and stops functioning. I’m not really worried about the hours and days before my death. In other words I don’t ponder it a lot or think about it often. When it does come up, it’s more like “No. I really don’t want to die that way.” Not that I don’t want to die because, really we don’t have much choice about it. That being said, I’m totally cool with the death part.

The Tao Te Ching mentions several times in its 81 verses about our physical bodies and the complications that these bodies can cause. We get so wrapped up in its sensations, its wants and needs, and the trappings of this physical existence that we lose sight of what is happening underneath it all. We lose sight of the Truth. The Tao is what happens underneath it all. The Tao is ever present and without end. When these physical bodies bite the big one, the Tao and the part of us that is One with the Tao in every moment, will continue on. It is only when we get caught up in this physical existence and the belief that this physical is all there is that death and dying become this frightening, scary thing. It is then that we are desperate to do everything and anything to ensure our continued existence and we grab for material things to fill that grave hole. We have separated ourselves from the Truth. When you look at the lifetime as all there is, of course its ending would be frightening.

How would you live your life differently if you truly knew, like really knew, I mean like no kidding, that you continue on beyond this earthly body? How would your life be different if you incorporated that knowing into all that you do? Would things become less stressful for you? Would you not take things so personally? Would you live your life with less urgency? Would you stop and smell the flowers more often? Perhaps all those cares and worries that weigh you down day by day, week by week, and month by month would feel a little less heavy. Maybe they would feel a little less burdensome. Knowing that there are lifetimes in front of you to experience the physical world, would it really be that important to get the next X-box, iPad, or new car? Certainly we are meant to enjoy life and this physical existence. However we are not here to make the physical trappings of the world our sole reason and purpose for doing things. We are meant to Live. Appreciate this life and those that share this life with us. We are meant to Create and share that with others. We are meant to Laugh, Cry, Hope, Connect, and die. Always we are meant to know that we are more, so much more, than our physical bodies.

In love and light

Celina

6 Comments

  1. I love the questions you raise here in this blog post, Celina. They are worthy of being posted in a prominent place and I will.

    “How would you live your life differently if you truly knew, like really knew, I mean like no kidding, that you continue on beyond this earthly body? How would your life be different if you incorporated that knowing into all that you do? Would things become less stressful for you? Would you not take things so personally? Would you live your life with less urgency? Would you stop and smell the flowers more often? Perhaps all those cares and worries that weigh you down day by day, week by week, and month by month would feel a little less heavy. ”

    Thanks for this post!

    • Thanks Iris. I am working towards having the “beyond this lifetime” awareness be incorporated into all I do. Work in progress!

  2. An interesting post. I wonder, have you read the works of Carlos Castaneda? He speaks of using death as advisor.

    Personally. I pondered the notion of death and what it means to me many years ago. And although I am certain that something of me was here before life and will continue beyond life.

    I don’t really consider that survival when I examine my actions.

    For me, my actions derive from who “I” am. I try to avoid actions based on what will be or what has or is happening to me.

    As you say, it is a work in progress. How can it be anything else.

    Excellent article. Thank you.

    • I love coming from the place of “Who I am?” or maybe even “Who do I want to be?” if you are changing who you are in the world. “Is this the action to take if I want to be a kind, loving, and generous person?” “Would a sincere, compassionate person say this?” Great way to live!
      Thanks for reading and responding.

      Celina

  3. I am Wiccan.
    I am not afraid of death.
    It’s all part of the cycle of life.
    As we are all One, we never really die.
    Our body may die but not the spirit/soul.
    In my mind, that remains as part of One.
    Kat

    • Good question. I think a lot of us don’t answer this one honestly. I don’t believe I am afraid of death. I have nearly done it and have been part of the dying of others, as an observer and loved one. I would like a peaceful death though I may not get to choose. I am afraid of living if incapacitated, mentally, mostly, or very physically diminished. I agree that it is part of the cycle of life. It hurts when we lose someone but we keep on completing the circle and our loved ones are still with us.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Tweet, tweet, tweet

    • 7 Spiritual Laws of Success. Wednesday - The Law of least Effort - accept people, situations, and events as they occur. 3 months ago
    • Sat Chit Ananda - my inner dialog reflects the fire of my soul. 3 months ago
    • 7 Spiritual Laws of Success. Tuesday - The Law of Karma - every action generates a force of energy that returns to us in like kind 3 months ago
    • San Kalpa - My intentions have infinite organizing power. 3 months ago
    • 7 Spiritual Laws of Success. Monday - The Law of Giving - bring whoever you encounter a gift. Keep circulating wealth by giving. 3 months ago
  • Subscribe to my feed