I’m Bored

Whenever I say those words, I think of a Garfield cartoon where Garfield is hanging on a screen door thinking “I’m bored. I’m bored. I’m bored.” Then the door slams open and in the next frame he thinks “I’m in pain. I’m in pain. I’m in pain.” So I try not to say those words aloud too often in case I get slammed by a screen door.

Being bored actually happens to me quite frequently. I remember listening to a lecture – I don’t remember by whom – where the lecturer was surprised and a little bit disgusted that anyone could ever be bored. Ever. It was probably a lecture by Dr. Wayne Dyer. This lecturer was astonished that with this vast and amazing universe anyone could ever be bored. Ever. There is so much to see, learn and explore that he could not image how anyone could ever be bored. Ever. Well I do get bored and, really. you can’t see, learn and explore every minute of the day. My brain needs a time out from that. Everyone’s brain probably needs a time out from constant learning, seeing and exploring. I believe it’s one of the reasons why we sleep.

What does it means when I’m bored? I think, for me, boredom is a form of resistance. It comes up when I got a whole list of things to do (like now) and they are the same things I’m done a million times before (like now) and I really just want to do something else. I get bored with the same old, same old. I want something new to spice things up. I want something to enliven the day. I want something I can sink my teeth into. I usually end up eating chocolate and just digging in and doing what I have to do – at the last minute, I might add (like now). Boredom is an emotional state experienced when an individual is without any work or is not interested in their surroundings. That was from Wikipedia. Hah! Well, according to that definition I’m not bored at all. I’m certainly not without any work to do. Goddess, No! I have a long list of “work” to do, a very long list. I have tons and tons of things to do. So clearly I’m not bored. That means I’m just in resistance

I think I would rather be bored.

I can deal with bored. Resistance is sneaky. So sneaky I thought it was boredom. We all know what you resist persists. So now I get to figure out what I’m resisting, step into acceptance of those things and move on.

Crap. I would really rather be bored.

 

In love and light

Celina

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

