“I Can’t Start Something New.” – Creativity Sapper!

Every time I go to begin a new project, I get this kind of sinking feeling in my stomach. Then I think, “I’ve got so many things already started.” After this thought, I begin to justify not starting anything new until I finish all those old  projects or throw them out. Since I really don’t want to finish ALL those old projects (because, really, there was a reason I stopped them in the first place) I just give up and go watch TV (or play computer games). Does this sound familiar to anyone? Anyone? Anyone else have lots of started projects building up somewhere in their home? I’m not an advocate of always starting things and not completing them (or throwing them out). However be aware if telling yourself this is just an excuse that a creativity sapper is telling to you to stop all creative endeavors.

Half-finished projects aside, if you find yourself not executing a new idea because you haven’t finished all the old ones, take a look at what’s going on under the surface. Check in with yourself. If you have been acting on your ideas all along, it might really be the “Lots of Ideas” sapper showing it colors. However, if you haven’t been acting on your creative ideas because of all that old stuff, you are definitely in the midst of our current sapper (you might also have a little of the “Lots of Ideas” one going on too, so check into that post). All those undeveloped-upon ideas build up inside and sap energy and desire. You feel like “What’s the point?” because you’ll never finish it anyway. You don’t start it because it will just sit on a shelf. You just let it go because it is too much effort to dig out of all that stuff (energetically and physically). It would be so much better to finish what you started and then begin some thing new. That statement is of course very true. However, if you haven’t been acting upon the creative impulse at all, then it is so much better to begin something then do nothing!!!! Recognize that statement for what it is in this case. It is a sapper!

The best way to move through this sapper is to do something new. As with most sappers, execution on an idea is the best remedy. That and the awareness of what is going on inside of you. Another way to work through this sapper is to get rid of the old stuff. Commit to taking a day or two and go through all that stuff. Throw it all out! If you can’t do that (I can’t) then put it away with the understanding that it is “on hold.” Make a commitment to take it out in, say, six months and begin on it like it was a new project. One of my greatest works, currently, was put away for six months and revived after that time period. Allowing yourself permission to begin something new, even with all those old project hanging around, will really put this sapper on the run. Give yourself permission to start two or three new projects so you can get into the exciting, juicy energy of beginning something new. Then use that energy to follow through on those new things. Oh, that will really kick this sapper in the teeth and send it packing. Finishing a project is the best surest way to say “Goodbye” to this sapper. Go finish something today and say so long to the “I can’t start something new” creativity sapper.

In love and light

Celina

2 Comments

  1. Oh, yes, I’ve done that. I can’t give myself ‘permission’ to start something new because it sounds like FUN and I don’t ‘deserve’ to have FUN until I do what I am “supposed to be” doing!

    • I totally get that! Heaven forbid we actually have before the dishes and laundry are done! Hmmmmm. I think I’ll go create a mandala right now. Anyone else up for something fun before the dishes?


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

