Tribute Written to My Mother

Last week I said “Good bye” to someone who had been the rock and foundation of my life – my mom. She made the transition to spirit at 12:30 am on February 12th, three days before her 70th birthday. As the months go by, I will grieve for the loss of her physical presence in my life. I will learn to live without her hugs, her voice, and her “Be careful driving” as I leave her house. I know her Spirit and her Presence will always surround me and support me. I know this and yet, I will still miss her physical presence. I would like to share with you what I wrote, and read, at her funeral mass to honor her presence in her life. Thank you all for letting me share this with you and honoring my mom in this way.

“When I was 3 months old my parents opened their home to me. They opened their family to me. They opened their hearts to me. 3 years later they did the same for my sister. We were complete strangers that became treasured children. Complete strangers that became family. We were enfolded in a mother’s loving arms. We were embraced by a mother’s loving heart. What I cherish about my mother is her open heart.

Everyone was welcome in our home. I don’t remember any one of my friends being made to feel unwelcome or unwanted. She accepted everyone. They had a place to stay, food to eat, and a person to protect them when needed. She was fiercely protective of her family, and her family included many. I was often surprised at how easily the word “mom” came to the lips of friends when they met my mother and how quickly she included my friends as “family.” It amazed me and made me proud. I was proud to share my mom with others so they could know how very lucky I was. She embodied everything the word mother meant – love, comfort, protection, acceptance, and nurturing.

One of the blessings this illness brought to my mother was the realization of just how many lives she touched. Until then she never realized just how much of a difference she made to people by just being her. She had never realized just how much her open heart affected the lives of the people around her. She was shocked at how many people wanted to support her and my dad. She was surprised to realize that she was cherished and loved by so many people. I am very thankful that she was able to learn this and that she was to see and understand the differences she made for so many people.

When all is said and done, that is what she truly was for so many – Mom.”

 

Mary Brooks, you will missed in this life by those you have left.

 

In love and light
Celina

1 Comment

  1. A beautiful tribute.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

