Are You Playing Full Out in Your Life?

He (The Master) holds nothing back from life; therefore he is ready for death.

Verse 50 from the Tao Te Ching by Lao Tzu

When I read this line I began to think about what I might be holding back from in my life and how often do I do that. What does it mean to hold back? Here’s a small example. There was a meeting planned for last Sunday. Sunday morning I got an e-mail that it had been canceled. I knew a friend of mine who was going most likely would not check her e-mail. I thought to call her, but decided I would take a nap then call her. I woke up too late be able to call her to to stop her from showing up to the canceled meeting – a 45 minute drive for her. Now, there are lots of reasons why this was not my responsibility, and why I shouldn’t have to worry about this… and that’s not the point. My point is, in that moment, I held back from life my compassion, my support, and my leadership. I held myself back.

How else do I hold back? Perhaps it may be that I don’t smile enough or say a kind word when I think of it. It could be that I pass the litter by on my walk instead of picking it up. It may be that I don’t call my friends when I desire to. I could hold myself back by not speaking up or speaking out about what is going on around me. Perhaps I’m too busy to give of myself in support of my fellow human beings, however that looks. Perhaps holding myself back means I complain about all that is going on around me instead of changing it or shifting it. Holding back to me means that I’m not playing full out.

Do I believe that I can do 100% of my ideas and thoughts 100% of the time? No, I don’t think that I can. We have over 60,000 thoughts a day and if we acted on all of them we would be running around doing lots of scattered stuff. I don’t think that is an effective way to move forward in your life. However, I do believe that there are times when our gut, our instincts, tells us when something is important. If you don’t do it, afterward you know you held something of yourself back. This was the case with me not calling my friend. The Master plays full out in their life. They hold nothing back. When death comes to the physical form, the Master rejoices in a life spent to the fullest measure. The master leaves nothing undone and has no regrets, so death is a simple matter of laying down to rest.

In love and light

Celina

1 Comment

  1. I am Ready for Death, but Since am Stock in this life I try to make the best of it until death finish up with everyone before me on its list 🙂


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Tweet, tweet, tweet

    • 7 Spiritual Laws of Success. Wednesday - The Law of least Effort - accept people, situations, and events as they occur. 3 months ago
    • Sat Chit Ananda - my inner dialog reflects the fire of my soul. 3 months ago
    • 7 Spiritual Laws of Success. Tuesday - The Law of Karma - every action generates a force of energy that returns to us in like kind 3 months ago
    • San Kalpa - My intentions have infinite organizing power. 3 months ago
    • 7 Spiritual Laws of Success. Monday - The Law of Giving - bring whoever you encounter a gift. Keep circulating wealth by giving. 3 months ago
  • Subscribe to my feed