What Do You Fear About the Unknown?

“…people need not fear the unknown if they are capable of achieving what they want and need.” by Paulo Coelho in The Alchemist

When I read these words, what I first stopped to think about was “what is it I fear about the unknown?” Then the more I thought about it, the more I realized that it wasn’t the great unknown that I feared. The nature of the word unknown means that I can not know something. How could I fear that which I don’t know? I realized that what I fear is that the results and outcomes of my choices may not be what I want them to be. So “the unknown” I fear is a fear because I can’t forecast what the outcome will be of situations. It’s unknown. I want to KNOW what is going to happen and plan accordingly! Maybe that’s why I have a controller personality! I always want to guarantee the outcome, so I do everything in my power to make sure that what I want is the most likely outcome of a given situation. Wow. That sounds really tiring doesn’t it? Take my word for it – it is.

These lines speak to me about confidence and trust. I remember an interview I read about Donald Trump. He spoke about losing it all and how he knew that he became rich once before and that he could do it again. If you know you are capable and able to achieve your desires and needs than there really is nothing to fear. If you trust in the universe to show you the way, lend a helping hand, and clear obstacles, then you have nothing to fear. I know that I’m not quite there yet. I still can’t quite wrap my mind around the fact that I can make $500,000 dollars in a year. So the fear creeps in and the unknown takes over. The questions of “how?” and “why?” take over and I think, “Well, what I have is good enough.” Guess what? I deserve more than “Good enough” and so do you! So I begin with what I think of as smaller things (By the way, The Universe doesn’t care if it’s 5 or 500,000 dollars. It’s all the same to The Universe. It’s our own selves that put the large and small on something) and create that confidence and trust of which I wrote earlier. As I believe, that gives energy to the situation and shifts it. It also shifts me. It supports me in removing the fear of the unknown and into knowing that I am capable of achieving want I want and need.

In love and light

Celina

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

