Do you Meditate? The Benefits of Meditation.

Do you meditate? Do you take time everyday to just get still and relax? The long term benefits of meditation have been studied and accepted by the medical community. OK, so some doctors may not call it mediation. However, all doctors will agree incorporating some form of relaxation and rejuvenation time is essential for a human being’s long term health. They just may not call it meditation. I actually take time everyday to meditate in some form and if I could change one thing in this world it would be that everyone would incorporate some form of a daily meditation practice. I believe that a regular meditation practice brings an inner peace that is reflected in how you deal with the world around you. A co-worker once asked me how I would solve the challenge of world peace. My answer – inner peace. Then he asked how to achieve inner peace. My answer – meditation

Why am I bringing this up this week? I’m reading an interesting book – The Secret Teaching of Plants. If you have been following my What Am I Reading section you might realize that I didn’t really like the way this book started out. My impression was that the author, Stephen Harrod Buhner, was saying that math and mathematical thinking, which I find to be very elegant and beautiful, are a waste of time. I was able to reconcile myself to his opinion and continue reading. I’m glad I did. He has been writing, in the current chapter I’m reading, about how when we put our attention on our heart and our emotions for an extended period of time, all of our electromagnetic fields will synchronize to the heart’s field. That synchronization strengthens all our fields beyond the combination of them alone – the sum is greater than the parts sort of thing. Then he goes on to list all of the many benefits of this synchronization, most of them very technical in nature and very cool to read. I highly recommend this book to anyone interested in a different view on how our bodies work. So, reflecting on these concepts brought me back to the benefits of meditation and using that meditative time to focus on our heart’s space and our emotions.

When people think of meditation usually they think of Transcendental meditation or of someone sitting cross legged and chanting the word OM over and over. These are only two forms of meditation. Meditation techniques and styles are quite varied. The simplest is spending time everyday just following your breath in and out of your lungs. If you have tried one type of meditation in your life and you didn’t like it, I challenge you to check out some different forms of meditation. There are an amazing amount of guided meditations available for free on the web. If you are in the area, I co-host a guided meditation group the 2nd and 4th Fridays of every month. We try to explore different types of guided meditation to give people a different sampling of what’s out there. Contact me for more info. However you do it, put aside time every day to to get still and to be quiet with yourself. The changes in your life will be amazing.

In love and light

Celina

4 Comments

  1. I am from india and call meditation as YOGA. This was practiced from our ancient time. It make mind and soul work together..you can also self heal your self on several health problems, but your articles are awesome, I hope you become a meditation trainer in future..thanks a lot!! keep up the good work!

    • I love to learn different types of meditation! Perhaps I will find one that I will pursue to the point of becoming a trainer. Right now I am enjoying the exploration! Thanks for your comments. I agree that you can heal your self with a meditation practice.

  2. How are the mantras in Transcendental Meditation special?…

    I found your entry interesting thus I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

    • Thank you! I have not studied Transcendental Meditation yet. It is on my list. I have done primordial sound and was given a mantra to use in that. I do like using mantras in mediation. I find it especially supportive in an evening meditation when it is harder to still my thoughts. Focusing on a mantra helps.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

