Who’s life is it anyways?

Have you ever been going along in your life, it being a perfectly ordinary day, and suddenly felt overwhelming sadness, anger, or a feeling of being upset for no apparent reason? These unexplained moments of extreme emotions are our mind and body telling us something. Are you listening?

How often do you take the time to stop and see if your life is going the way you want? I know for most of my life I only stopped and looked when I ran smack into a brick wall made of what I didn’t want in my life. I can tell you from experience those are not the times to be looking at your life and seeing if you are on track. In those times, you almost always have a skewed view of where you are and where you want to go. How many of us look at our lives regularly and think about what we want and where we want to go? Mostly we think in terms of what we want to own or how much money we want to earn. How often does anyone look at what makes them happy, sad, excited, mad or emotional?

When we do stop and look at where we want to go and what we want from life, do we ever consider that maybe what we “think” we want is not even what we truly want? So often we are told when growing up what we should do, how much money we should earn, and even what will make us happy. Rarely do we stop and think “Is this what I really want?” It is only after we have gotten all that we were told will make us happy, comfortable, and secure that we stop and look. Usually we are looking because we have gotten all those things and we are still not content. We are restless, stressed, miserable, and plain disgusted with what is going on inside of us and around us. Then we look. Again, not the best time to look.

So I challenge you this week. Take some time when you are relaxed and unstressed, to look around you and see if you are where you want to be. Then examine if it is really something that you wanted or something that you were told you should want. Did you put aside a dream, vision or passion to get where you are? Is there something missing and you don’t know what? Here are some questions to help you on your way.

1. What do I dream about, or have a passion for?
2. When in my life have I been the happiest?
3. How often do I take time to relax and just be?
4. What do I think will make me happy and why?
5. How is what I think will make me happy tied into my passion or dreams?

In love and light
Celina
2 Comments

  1. Excellent post and very good questions, Celina!

  2. You might enjoy reading Marcus Aurelius’ “The Meditations”. Introspection and the philosophical life are goals I am pursuing each day.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

