Same old brick.

Building your new life one brick at a time

I really dislike having to do the same brick over and over again. So what am I learning in that process. The main thing I’m learning is that I really procrastinate a lot. So what is it about procrastination that attracts me so much? Why do I love to put off until tomorrow what I can do today? How can I shift my perspective around this?

I love deadlines and they support me in getting my work done. I have always worked well under pressure. However the deadlines work best when imposed by others. As I’m writing this I’m realizing that by procrastinating I gain super clarity on what needs to be done for the next day or two. It helps me focus my energy and thoughts on one thing. Much of my day is spent multitasking – going from one thing to another as challenges arise to be solved in that moment. I spent much of my working career putting out one fire after another, so that when I finally sit down at my desk with nothing urgent on my plate, I literally don’t know what to do next. I know I can multitask well and I also know it robs my of focus and energy. These are great insights and how can I use this knowledge moving forward.

What actions and structures will support me in gaining that clarity and focus I achieve when under pressure without applying that pressure? I’m thinking that a daily list about what is important for each day, both for my day job and my business, will support that structure. Doing and completing one task at a time will also support me. Allowing the  structure of my day to support breathing space, so that I’m not constantly running around doing things in every moment of the day. Remembering to schedule the household tasks will also support me. That way I am not robbing myself of my breathing space to complete the household tasks. Hmmmmm. I’m like the sound of this. I’ll let you know how it worked for me next week.

July 6th

So onto this week’s brick. I’ve been working on my home work for ICA. This week I did not achieve what I set out and I should have looked more closely at what was available for me for time. I also had more home work than I had orginially realized. It is this same brick again for next Monday, more homework to get caught up before classes begin again.

How is everyone doing on their bricks?

In love and light

Celina

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

