For Want Of A Nail.

FOR WANT OF A NAIL

For want of a nail, the shoe was lost;
For want of the shoe, the horse was lost;
For want of the horse, the rider was lost;
For want of the rider, the battle was lost;
For want of the battle, the kingdom was lost,
And all for the want of a horseshoe nail.

I first read this, or something very similar to this, in Madeleine L’Engle’s book A Wind In the Door. This version is taken from the book The Real Mother Goose.

There are many challenges facing this world and the human race. Many things that are wrong. Many things that cause hurt, pain and misery. So many that it seems to be overwhelming at times, hopeless at other times. I know there are many times I look around and think, “What can I do?” The problems seem so big and I’m just a single person. Those are the times when I think – be the change I want to see in the world. Then I begin to put my own house in order. I look to see what I can do to help the environment, the economy, world peace, homelessness, etc. Yet, everyday the media tells us how bad things are, how much worse things are going to get and how wrong all our leaders are. Again I ask myself, “What can I do?”

Well the first thing I usually think of is turn off the news. The news is not part of the solution. Then I do what I can, when I can, to bring some light into the world. I help my clients get clarity on their lives. I help my employer by solving problems to reduce his stress. I work on my own personal growth so that I can bring higher vibrations into the world. I pick up litter. I support causes. I pray. I create shifts. I do what I can.

Some days it still doesn’t feel like enough.

They seem to be such small things – little things that make no difference. For every piece of litter I pick up, 10 more appear the next day. For every problem I solve, another one comes the next day. For every client I help to take on their life and take responsibility for that life, someone else goes victim and passes the blame.

Then I remember “For want of a nail…” That one act of kindness, that smile to a stranger, that problem I could solve, that client I could support in changing their life, what if any of those are the one thing I don’t do that is the nail that will cause the battle to be lost? What if?

Every act is it’s own reward. The accumulation of small acts are enough to change a world, to win a battle. Apart we are small – together we are multiplied. Remember that when the media and others are blaring in your head, ears, and face about how bad it is. Don’t put blinders on. However, remember that one small act on your part may be all it takes to push the world into Light.

In love and light

Celina

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

