“You are not in the world…

the world is in you” Deepak Chopra

I had heard this before but what it made it different this time was the context in which he put it. I had always heard it in terms of spiritual enlightenment. I had taken it to mean that when you achieve “enlightenment” you are still physically in this world but your spirit has reached a higher plane and exist outside this world. To me that meant the trials and tribulations of this physical world no longer mattered, or maybe it mattered but no longer affected, those who were now “enlightenment” That is what it meant to me, if I had to articulate the thought before I heard it put in a new perspective. That is what shifted for me after hearing Dr Chopra explained it – the perspective in which I viewed “the world is in you.”

This world is composed of energy. Think of the old question – if a tree falls in a forest does it make a sound. It makes a vibration that can be interrupted by our ears as a sound. So if there is no one there, then where is the sound? There is only the potential of a sound with the vibration generated by the falling tree. So everything – absolutely everything that we human beings interact with in this world is interrupted by our senses. That is the new shift I had around this statement. I can not see this world without my eyes; therefore everything I see is filtered by my sense of sight and then interrupted by my brain. Every bit of the energy vibration of this world is only experienced by me through my senses. So in that sense the entire world is within me because only through my own sense can I interact with this physical world. This is shown to me quite often as my husband and I see color very differently. I have a wider range of color perception than he does. He also experiences a wider range of sound nuances than I do.

So is it any wonder there are so many misunderstandings, hurt feelings, and miscommunications every day with each of us having our own unique experience of the world? It is also amazing that we can find a place of understanding and communications so fairly often. That even with those unique experiences we can find a way to connect and expand who and what we are.

So really what does this all mean on a daily basis? Just that you can never truly understand what another person is experiencing. They can explain it and perhaps you can get some of it but to truly understand their experience you must experience the world through the senses. That is not likely to happen yet. Although I do believe that we may find a way to achieve that someday. So the awareness that you may not understand what another is experiencing is critical thing to have. You can never understand someone until you walk a mile in his shoes… and hear with his ears, see with his eyes, and interpret with his brain. So as you go through your days know that what everyone around you is experiencing is there own interpretation of this world and it may not be at all like yours and that doesn’t make it wrong – just different.

In love and light

Celina

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Tweet, tweet, tweet

    • 7 Spiritual Laws of Success. Wednesday - The Law of least Effort - accept people, situations, and events as they occur. 3 months ago
    • Sat Chit Ananda - my inner dialog reflects the fire of my soul. 3 months ago
    • 7 Spiritual Laws of Success. Tuesday - The Law of Karma - every action generates a force of energy that returns to us in like kind 3 months ago
    • San Kalpa - My intentions have infinite organizing power. 3 months ago
    • 7 Spiritual Laws of Success. Monday - The Law of Giving - bring whoever you encounter a gift. Keep circulating wealth by giving. 3 months ago
  • Subscribe to my feed